Spring Came Early!

I live in central Pennsylvania, so I’m normally buried under snow drifts and shivering in sub-zero temperatures this time of the year. This year? No way, Jose! The last few days have been absolutely gorgeous, hitting nearly 70 degrees at times. Is it likely to last? No. BUT I think that makes it even sweeter, and I’m enjoying it while it’s here.

The biggest impact of this weather (other than on my mood) is that it makes me want to be outside to soak it in. I’ve been going for walks with the baby (who is also loving the nicer weather), trying to get those steps in. My daily goal is 5000 steps, but I’ve been aiming for 7000, and I’ve been doing pretty alright! These walks have taken the place of my time on the recumbent bike.

All’s been well on the diet front since Friday. I had a pretty big binge on Thursday that included 2 dinners, but I bounced back. I’ve been journaling to try to nail down my triggers, and honestly… I can’t figure this one out. I was fine, had recently had a snack along with plenty of water that day when all of a sudden, I was pulling into a drive-thru. And later, I pulled into another drive-thru even though I was still full from the first time.

It’s silly of me to hope that I will never binge again, but it doesn’t change the extreme disappointment and shame every time it happens. During the first year of my “rebirth,” I didn’t binge — at all. But as soon as I did it once, it was like my body remembered how  wonderful it felt and never wanted to go without it again. I haven’t been able to get it under control for more than a few weeks at a time since then.

My next doctor’s appointment is on Wednesday, and I’m nervous about how she’ll react when I tell her about the past 3 weeks since she was so pumped up, positive and encouraged at my last visit when I’d lost 12 pounds. I hate disappointing people. I also need to prove to her that I am dedicated to making a change if I ever do decide that I want to move in the direction of a weight loss surgery.

I’m not sure that I’ve explained the way I’ve been doing my meal planning this time around. I don’t have all the time that I had before the kiddo came along to spend so much time prepping meals on Sunday, so I created an Excel template that allows me to 1. Plan my lunches/dinners for the week, 2. Create my shopping list as I go, and 3. Save these plans so I can easily go back through for inspiration. The usual plan is to make enough at dinner to provide leftovers for lunch the following day. I also periodically compile and freeze a few meals to make life easier (oven, crock pot, and skillet meals). Here is my dinner meal plan for the week:

  • Saturday: Skinny Beef Casserole
  • Sunday: (amended) Turkey sandwich
  • Monday: Ground pork and cabbage
  • Tuesday: Ritz cracker chicken with steamed asparagus
  • Wednesday: Meat loaf (freezer meal) served with sweet potatoes and green beans
  • Friday: Eat out/leftovers

Reviews:

  • Skinny Beef Casserole was pretty good, but could have used Worcestershire sauce, though I did use crushed tomatoes from our garden that I canned after a harvest last summer instead of tomato sauce like it called for.
  • Ground pork and cabbage was phenomenal just as written. Could maybe have used a touch more turmeric. I also divided into 4 servings instead of 3.

How’s your week??

Leave a Reply

