Milestones: One Year On

August 1, 2015 marked one year since I started on my journey to better health. I realize that I haven’t blogged in a few months, but during that time, I did NOT fall off the wagon; I’ve simply been busy with a new job and a kitchen reno. If you’ve been following me on Instagram, you know that I’ve still been around (and that I’m still terrible at social media).

The last time I posted, I weighed in at 236.4. On July 31 (my week 52 weigh-in), the scale said 220.4. It’s been a little more up and down in the past few months than in the past, but I’ve been dealing with a lot of stress, and well, I lost 133.0 pounds in ONE YEAR.

When I started on this journey, my only concrete goal was to get under 300 pounds… and I didn’t really have a timeline for it. For those just tuning in, when I stepped on the scale last August, it read, “353.4.” Even getting under the 300-mark seemed insurmountable. These days, I feel like a whole new person. I realize that sounds like a cliche, but it’s true. I feel incredible.

I can ride a bike again (I got a new one this summer!). I can literally jog up my stairs whereas last summer, my entire body ached so much that it felt like my knees were being ripped out of my body every time I had to walk up or down the steps. I have been able to help with our kitchen remodel far more than I would have been able to in the past, spending hours at a time climbing up and down my little red stool to patch, sand, paint, and more! I’m uncovering “new” bones every day. I’m happier and have more energy, and my marriage is better than ever. We even realized that since he weighs about 160, and I’ve lost 133 pounds, that the two of us together are now about the size that I used to be. That’s really crazy!

Since starting my new job at the end of March, I moved to another building. As a result, I’ve started running into old coworkers who I hadn’t seen in a few years. Many were actually a little standoffish when I first saw them, and then more and more gradually started approaching me to ask about my weight loss. Here’s the thing: they weren’t standoffish because they didn’t like me; they were standoffish because they didn’t recognize me. I think I’ve inspired 3 people in the last month alone to give Weight Watchers a try.

It’s not all sunshine and rainbows. I still struggle. In fact, recently, I think I’ve been struggling more than in the entire year leading up to this. There have been actual binges in the past few weeks. I tracked them, and I know I’ll never be totally binge-free (it’s not realistic), but it’s still scary, scary behavior. I don’t want to go back to where I was. Even though binging inherently makes you feel bad about yourself, I’ve been making it a point not to be hard on myself. I know that will only lead to more binging. I know the reason behind the binges (I’m super stressed at work, my house is in disarray thanks to remodeling, and I feel out-of-control/empty). All I can do is find other ways to cope. AND I have the lovely Rachael to talk me off the ledge/bring me back to reality.

Enough with the reflection! I know what you want to see: the photographic evidence! Because hey, I look amazing 🙂

Before:

During:

Current:

Comparison shots:

Front Compare 8-2015

Side Compare 8-2015

IMG_2695 IMG_2800

How have you been doing?

4 thoughts on “Milestones: One Year On

  1. Congrats!! You’re doing amazing. I’m having crazy ups and downs too, but I keep trying to look at the big picture when that happens. Some days are better than others, and I agree binges are the scariest.

    But oh my gosh, 133 pounds! You’re killing it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: New Beginning | Journey to After

Leave a Reply

