Week 34 Weigh-In: 100 Pounds GONE

I have done it. I’ve lost exactly 100 pounds!

  • Starting Weight: 353.4 lbs
  • Last Week: 253.6 lbs
  • Current Week: 253.4 lbs
  • This weekโ€™s change: -0.2 lbs
  • Change overall: -100.0 lbs

3-30-15

I can’t begin to adequately express how I feel about such a monumental accomplishment, but you all know I’m going to try!

When I started this journey on August 1, 2014, I really only started because my company was offering a discount on Weight Watchers. I had tried so many times and failed, even having previously lost about 95 pounds with Weight Watchers in 2009-2010, as I explained in my story. I didn’t have an a-ha! moment, and I’m not sure what made this time different. I didn’t have high hopes or big expectations, but I promised myself two things: I wouldn’t consume any alcohol for the first 30 days, and if I was hungry, I would eat.

Surfing the internet for inspirational stories of people who’d lost over 150 pounds and followed Simply Filling, I found Brooke: Not on a Diet. Brooke has been a great source of motivation and inspiration for me in this endeavor, and I highly recommend that you check her out! In her post about reaching her weight loss goal, she said, “I’m an after,” and I thought, “Yes! I can be an after!” It was then that this little blog was born, aptly named Journey to After. I started my blog in the hopes of just holding myself accountable for my actions. As a recovering food addict, I believe this was a necessary step. The support and friendship I have found here on WordPress has been indispensable. As with any addiction, support is absolutely key to the recovery process.

I still have about 120 pounds to go to reach my weight loss goal. Though, I’m still not totally sure what my goal really is, and I don’t think I will know until I get much closer to that point. I THINK that number might be in the 130s, but it is subject to change. I am 5’1″, and I have always been overweight, so I really just don’t know what to expect. HOWEVER, the change in my mindset from “I can’t believe I still have this much weight left to lose” to “I only have this much weight left to lose,” is refreshing. I didn’t set out to lose 100 pounds in 34 weeks. I didn’t even initially hope to lose 100 pounds in one year. I just wanted to feel better. Then I lost 19 pounds in my first week, and something just clicked. I was doing it! And I wasn’t going back.

I look back to last July, and that girl feels like a different person. I don’t ever want to forget that person, but I don’t ever want to be her again. The Alison of July 2014 was uncomfortable, losing confidence in herself, experiencing social anxiety, sitting on the couch all day, in pain, and unhappy. Since embarking on this journey, so much has changed. Yes, I still battle with feeling uncomfortable, and that old social anxiety creeps up sometimes. Now though, I’m outside and moving. I go for walks, I work in my yard. I’ve always loved cooking, and I do that more. My husband and I actually do things together instead of sitting kind of near each other while watching TV. I’m enjoying life, and I’m so excited to go kayaking and hiking and biking this summer. I’m learning not to let my size define me anymore.

This rediscovered self-worth has had an amazing impact on my marriage as well. This journey isn’t just about losing weight – I am reclaiming my life and my relationships. I am learning to love myself and learning that I am worth more than my weight in cheeseburgers and potato chips.

The “secrets” to my success?

  • I track everything that I eat. This includes EVERYTHING.
  • I prepare most of my own food, making a lot of crock pot meals and casseroles over the weekend to prepare for the week ahead. Most of this food is fresh. I try not to use overly processed foods like fat-free cheeses and salad dressings. I refuse to eat margarine or light butter and light breads, and I rarely buy TV dinners or those crappy 100 calorie packs of junk food or candy. I use full-fat butter and cheese in moderation. The next time you are at the grocery store, compare the ingredient list of reduced fat cream cheese to the ingredient list of the full fat version. I dare you. I am, however, down with the Sandwich Thin.
  • I eat every 2-3 hours so that I don’t get so hungry that I go home and eat my entire couch. My mid-afternoon snack is my secret weapon!
  • I eat at least one serving of fruits (though not more than 3 servings of fruit!) or vegetables with every meal and snack. They fill you up, and they prevent you from getting scurvy!
  • I balance my plate with proteins, carbs, and fruits/vegetables, following the plate balancing trick of dividing your plate down the middle, filling half the plate with veggies, then dividing the other half again. In one quarter, you have protein, and the last quarter is a starch in order to try to limit my carbohydrate/starch intake to one serving per meal or snack. Say I go out to a restaurant or over to someone’s house for dinner and there’s mashed potatoes and dinner rolls: I will normally just choose one or the other.

  • Baby carrots.
  • I use my weekly PointsPlus allowance if I want to. If I want pizza, I will eat pizza. If I want cake, I will eat cake. If I want a beer, I will have a beer. But I eat them in moderation, and I track as I go. I even ate a crispy buffalo chicken wrap at work the other week, and you know what? I didn’t eat it because I felt like I deserved it or because I was emotional or because I was self-sabotaging. I ate it because I planned for it and because it fit into my day. This is the rest of your life. There needs to be a balance, and you don’t need to have an all-or-nothing mentality.
  • I’ve accepted that I need boundaries and guidelines when it comes to my eating habits.
  • I’ve accepted that “normal” skinny people do not eat whatever they want all the time, and I’m not doing myself any favors by treating my body like a landfill. Most of the thin and fit people I know are very conscious of what they are putting into their bodies. Sure, there are exceptions, but actually watch your friends and coworkers; I think you will be surprised!

In other news, (now that I’m off my soapbox) if you haven’t already signed up for a blogger penpal, the deadline is fast approaching! So far, I have heard from Amber, Rachael, and Katrina (and me!), and would love for a few more to get in on the action.

I wanted to include a photo of myself with this post, but today is my work from home half day, and I’m slumming, so here is a photo of me from Saturday afternoon. This is the face of a lady who is just about to reach her 100-pound weigh loss goal!

IMG_0384

And this girl from Friday who’d just enjoyed a very classy vodka gimlet while wearing an extremely loud shirt.

IMG_0371

IMG_0407

Sincerely, thank you to everyone who has supported me throughout this leg of my journey. I don’t know where I would be without you! Hey, I lost 100 pounds in less than a year!

32 thoughts on “Week 34 Weigh-In: 100 Pounds GONE

  1. I am so very, very proud of you, Alison!

    I know that I tell you often that you inspire me, but you truly, truly do. You have helped me on so many occasions, and when I’m struggling or unsure of myself or of something related to what I’m doing throughout the course of my own journey, I look to you and your journey for help and guidance.

    You have shown me that it IS possible to have a normal life and lose weight. You have kept me from eating as much processed junk as I want to (ha! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) and you have kept me on track, motivated, and hanging on when I’ve wanted to veer off in the wrong direction.

    I look forward to hearing about your journey every day and every week because I truly love to see your victories.

    I am so, so, so proud of you and so thankful that we met here!

    My journey would not be the same without you and your influence.

    Congratulations, lady! You did it! You’ll be at the finish line soon enough! I believe in you and you know I’m cheering for you!

    โค

    Liked by 2 people

    • You’re going to make me cry, and I’m not a weepy broad! I am honored to be part of your journey, and I wish I had gotten it together when I was your age! Thank you so much for all your continued support and for feeding my husband ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 3 people

  2. When I saw this post I got so excited I literally texted the link to my husband, just because I had to share it with someone. You are a champion among weight losers and bloggers. Brilliantly done, inspirationally written. Congratulations all around. You give me so much hope!

    Liked by 1 person

    • This is one of the nicest things anything has ever said to me! Thank you so much, Katrina! You guys keep me honest, and you keep me going! I know that you can do this ๐Ÿ˜Š we can all do this together!

      Like

      • You’re welcome ๐Ÿ™‚
        I thought rachaelxoxo set the bar so high I almost didn’t comment! I figured she’s said it all, then I realized that of course there was more to say, and that quantity is almost as satisfying as quality when it comes to praiseful comments

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I want to echo Katrina and Rach. You are a rock star. I saw you make the comment about wishing you’d do e this when you were younger. I’ve td Rachael and others the same thing. You ARE young, Alison. But even though I probably have 25 years on you, there is never a bad ti.e to do this.

    I love your enthusiasm for this. I know you will keep things moving because you are determined.

    Welcome to the century club

    Like

    • Bobby, I can’t begin to express my gratitude for your friendship and support. I’m so thankful that I decided one day to start putting myself out here and that all of us like-minded bloggers were able to find each other on this positivity train!

      Also, I don’t think you’ve quite got 25 years on me! You’re younger than my parents ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’ll be 30 in June, you know!

      And the century club sounds way more exclusive than the Mile High Club. I’m sorry, but someone had to say it!!!

      Thanks again, Bobby, for all of your kindness and honesty. And thank you for reblogging me!!

      Like

  4. Woo hoo! Congratulations. This is wonderful and such a timely inspiration for me. You are young like Bobby-C says. You are the youngest today for the rest of your life! I hope you have given yourself a good pat on your back. You so deserve it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!! And that’s a nice way of putting it. I won’t be 29 forever, you know! … Or will I? ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I wish you the best of luck on your own journey! Thanks for following me!!!!

      Like

  5. Congrats, Lady!!
    I knew you were fast on your way to 100. That is such an unbelievable accomplishment. I know I say it every time, but I just can’t find the words to express how much I truly mean them… my inspiration! I look up to you in so many ways and watching what an amazing woman you are is so motivating and makes me proud to know you.

    Like

    • Thank you so much, Harley!! And I also feel like a broken record in saying that I know I wouldn’t have made it so far without all of you here on the blog. I’m so honored to be able to follow your journey as well, and I hope to remain friends for a very long time!!

      This process is difficult, but I truly believe that together, we can accomplish just about anything! There’s power in numbers, and I thank God every day that I chose this path that brought me to all of you!

      I wish I was as good with words as Rachael is in order to adequately thank you for the support and inspiration you’ve provided to me, not just here with this comment, but with the combination of just everything. So, I’ll try to be succinct instead: Thank you! From the bottom of my heart ๐Ÿ˜

      Like

      • I’m too much of an emotional person for this, girl! Regardless, of blogging or not, I hope to still remain a part of everyone’s journeys and keep them a part of mine as well. This is such a special, amazing group to be a part of and I’m so honored and thankful for all of you.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Wow that is amazing congrats!! I havent blogged in so long or been on..but I’m so happy to have longed on to see everyones progress..makes me wish I had stuck to it but Im back and trying again!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kristen, I know you can do it!! I’m glad you’re back! It’s not always easy, but I truly believe that this process is more a mental one than a physical one. I think the hardest thing to overcome is that all-or-nothing mentality. I try not to think of any of my food choices as “good” or “bad” or “mistakes,” they are just food. You track everything, and your progress is the sum of ALL parts, not just individual incidents.

      I think your perseverance is admirable. So you went away for a while? So what! You’re back now, trying again, and that’s what really matters.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you!! For such words of couragement.. This week has been hard but because my boyfriend is doing it with me it has helped soo much!! I feel more motivated with him by my side trying to count points. And not going off track. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Like

      • The first week to two months is the hardest, and then it becomes more second nature, I think! I’m glad to hear things are going well!! Great work!

        Like

  7. “Iโ€™ve accepted that โ€œnormalโ€ skinny people do not eat whatever they want all the time, and Iโ€™m not doing myself any favors by treating my body like a landfill”

    I need to get that carved into my eyelids so I don’t forget. Words to live by

    Like

  8. How awesome for you!! I’ve just run across your blog, and I would love to participate in some of the things you have going on, so if someone is needing a blogger penpal or you’re needing another person for the blogger care package, please let me know. That sounds like so much fun to me.

    I have LOTS of weight to lose, so my journey is going to be a long one, but I have finally reached that place where everything clicks, and you don’t know why you haven’t felt like being aware all the time. Anyway, I’m looking forward to reading more on your blog.

    Like

  9. How awesome for you!! I am looking forward to getting to where you are. I am so glad to have run across your blog. I have been wanting to get in a stream of ladies chasing the same goals. So proud for you!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

