Week 32 Weigh-In

While last month was slow and steady, this month, the weight is just falling off.

  • Starting Weight: 353.4 lbs
  • Last Week: 258.6 lbs
  • Current Week: 255.6 lbs
  • This week’s change: -3.0 lbs
  • Change overall: -97.8 lbs

I have lost more in the past 2 weeks than I did in the entire month of February! I haven’t been doing anything differently, except I had cake… twice (it was D’s birthday!). Oh? You mean that you can have your cake, eat it, and still lose weight? Who knew? Obviously, I didn’t indulge in mass amounts of cake, but yes. It’s possible to indulge and lose weight.

I’ve been thinking a lot about that balance lately. When I’ve been “off the wagon,” everything was extreme. I wouldn’t have a sliver of cake, I would eat half a cake with ice cream and chips… and probably a burger or two… and chicken tenders with ranch. So many chicken tenders. Life doesn’t need to be like that!

I would be lying if I said I didn’t still sometimes get the urge to binge. I don’t think that every urge is even triggered by something particular. Sometimes, they’re just there. Sometimes, you just have “hungry days.” I know that if I give in to these urges, it will start an entire downward spiral, wherein I would binge every day. So now, when this happens I make allowances. I try to fill that emptiness by making smarter choices. I eat small amounts at a time and track them as I go. I might as well buy stock in baby carrots because they are my go-to when the binging urge strikes. I can sit on the couch with a bag of baby carrots and mindlessly eat them like potato chips, at a fraction of the calories.

This balance is part of my life now more than ever before. Sometimes, I think that I don’t care and I want to let go, but I know that’s not true. I matter. I can’t continue to kill myself by binging wildly. I don’t want to let go, and I don’t want to throw away all the progress I’ve made. I still have a long way to go, and I know that I will struggle with this for the rest of my life. I’m striving to eat like a “normal” person. I make good choices and prepare my own food 95% of the time, so when I do indulge, it seems special, and it’s something to be savored.

How do maintain balance in your daily life? Any tips or tricks?

10 thoughts on “Week 32 Weigh-In

  1. Like you said, for me it really is about those allowances. Letting myself have a chocolate bar if I really want one to keep myself from eating an entire bag of chocolate + pizza + chips + pie etc. if I tell myself I “can’t.” Being in control of my eating doesn’t mean eating 100% healthy 100% of the time, it means finding that balance.

    What I’m learning to do is wait out cravings. I tell myself that if I still really want that thing in a couple of hours then I can have it! Sometimes I do and sometimes I don’t but it’s teaching me to not have the knee-jerk reaction of succumbing to cravings.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Most of the time, I can wait them out! Sometimes, there’s that panicky feeling that seems to just last forever, and you do the walk to the fridge and back about a million times… But I’ve heard that if you’re not hungry enough to eat fruit or a vegetable, then you’re not really hungry! That’s been my new mantra. It helps!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Almost 100 pounds.. I am so incredibly proud of you. You are an absolute inspiration. The one thing I haven’t done is not allow myself to indulge. If I didn’t, I would binge and lose all control. I still have days that I do though. Balance is so so difficult to maintain sometimes.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Look at you go! So close to your 100 lb mark!

    I do the same when I feel the need to eat a lot…I try to go for the baby carrots, bananas, 1 pt string cheese, or lightly salted rice cakes. I also don’t skip dessert, I just have it less often. Instead of ice cream after every dinner, ice cream only once or twice per week. Even then, ice cream by the serving size, not by the size of my dish. 🙂

    Amber

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

