Measuring Up: Month 7

While I’ve hit what might be my first real plateau/stall (I don’t want to spoil tomorrow’s weigh-in post, but… according to yesterday’s peek at the scale, I’m still dancing around the same pound that I’ve been seeing for the past 3 weeks), I still lost 5.4 pounds this month thanks to a huge loss in the first week! In addition to those 5 pounds, the tape is showing some great progress.

Total Inches Lost: 36.0″

Waist to Hip Ratio: 0.711

Waist:

  • Starting: 49″
  • Last month: 41.0″
  • Current: 40.5″
  • Overall Change: -8.5″

Right Bicep:

  • Starting: 21.0
  • Last month: 17.25″
  • Current: 17.0″
  • Overall Change: -4.0″

Bust:

  • Starting: 51″
  • Last month: 43.25″
  • Current: 42.25″
  • Overall Change: -8.75″

Right Thigh:

  • Starting: 35.5″
  • Last month: 30.0″
  • Current: 29.75
  • Overall Change: -5.75″

Hips:

  • Starting: 66″
  • Last month: 58.0″
  • Current: 57.0″
  • Overall Change: -9.0″

I knew something was up when I inexplicably all of a sudden am in a size 20 dress instead of the 22 I’ve been wearing. In fact, the size 20 may even be a little too big, but I’m nervous to try out an 18! According to my bust measurement, I should be a size 16, while my waist should be a 20, and my hips should still be somewhere between a 28 and a 30. When choosing the right size, I tend to try to go with my waist measurement, meaning the bust and arms are too big and the hips have a shot at being snug, especially because I’ve recently uncovered a deep and abiding love for shift dresses, even though I know I should really stick to the fit and flares!

11015380_301643560005887_1293853904_n

Why yes, that is a size 20 dress that I found in my closet!

10967712_299259870244256_277371505_n

I was informed that this size 20 dress was too big for me.

Can you believe it’s been just 7 months? I feel like a new person!

5 thoughts on “Measuring Up: Month 7

    • Thanks so much, Emma!!! The bottom dress is from Gwynnie Bee (if you haven’t checked it out yet – you should! The first month is $10 and you can cancel at any time), and the black dress is actually a Walmart find from a few years ago. Yellow cardigan is from JC Penney. The owl necklace is from Park Lane jewelry (one of those hostess direct sales jewelry party companies). I’m going through a 60s-inspired phase at the moment, so I also find a lot of great pieces at Modcloth.com. I love dresses, and I am drawn to those sort of timeless cuts and patterns, but with a modern vintage feel. Let me know if you want any other tips! Oh! And Old Navy often has some good basic dresses!

      Like

Leave a Reply

