Week 29 Weigh-In

Chalk up another little loss for the books!

  • Starting Weight: 353.4 lbs
  • Last Week: 264.8 lbs
  • Current Week: 264.4 lbs
  • This week’s change: -0.4 lbs
  • Change overall: -89.0 lbs

That’s two weeks in a row of minuscule losses, but remember – 2 weeks ago I dropped 4.8 lbs in one week! My 3-week average loss has historically been between 5 and 6 pounds, so I’m right on track with 5.4 pounds over the past 3 weeks. ALSO, I have lost weight for 15 consecutive weeks! And actually, I’ve dropped exactly 40 pounds over the course of those 15 weeks. That’s absolutely amazing.

2-23-15


I don’t know about the rest of you, but it has been FRIGID, BITTERLY cold here. Last week, we had a few days where it was -10°F with a “real feel” of -30°F. What? When did I move to a tundra?! As a result, the winter blues have been in full bloom (they’re seriously the only thing blooming around here these days), and I have been lazy and stuffing my face with delicious pizza.

Today, I decided this cold, snowy weather wasn’t going to hold me hostage any longer. I finished working, got a nice hot bath, laced up my sneakers, and set out on a walk. The part of the town I where I live is called the Hill, and my usual route has been to walk down the hill, through the subway under the railroad tracks, down to the river, and loop back up. That loop is about a mile and a quarter, and the hill is pretty steep, but it’s not terribly long. A few times when I’ve had D with me, I ventured across the river to the next town where we wandered around a bit and then walked back up the Hill, about a 2-mile walk. Today, I decided I’d go under the tracks and across the walking bridge, but instead of wandering around and coming back the way I came, I’d tackle the Brickhill (so named because the sidewalks are brick… even though many other sidewalks in the neighborhood are brick, but I digress) and head back across the other bridge.

I can’t even believe it. I made it up the Brickhill without stopping, and I was only moderately winded when I reached the top! I have been slowly working my way up to attempting this hill, and I did it!

Brickhill

Here’s a view of the Brickhill that I yanked from Google Street View… I apologize that you can’t see the brick sidewalks from this view.

This victory was short-lived. It was so cold that my phone died just as I started across the second bridge to head home. That left me with nothing to focus on except how cold and windy it was, and how numb my legs were getting… and how I wished I’d worn a hat! That last mile was totally miserable, but I did it! I assume I did it pretty quickly since I was freezing, but like I said, my phone died, so the world will never know.

Oh, and here is the shot I snapped right before my phone died.

11010981_300630963440480_3670282725425573312_n

How’s it going for all of you? Are you meeting any super awesome goals these days?!

8 thoughts on “Week 29 Weigh-In

  1. Woo hoo!!! That’s so great! There’s a big hill I walk up on my way home from my WW meeting, and I can actually make it to the top and even continue on without resting! It really amazes me; I know me from 7 months ago would have had to rest at least 3 or 4 times.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have been using the weather as an excuse not to get out and exercise and I live in the South, so I am super impressed with your discipline!

    And I’m so proud of your 15 consecutive losses! That is truly awesome. You rock!

    Like

  3. Oh, wow! Wow, wow, wow! Eighty-nine pounds in twenty-nine weeks — are you kldding? That is absolutely amazing! And I can see what a difference it’s making from looking at your progress photos. Keep it up, Alison. Not that you need telling. Congratulations!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

