Week 24 Weigh-In

Well, thanks to Rachael’s step challenge, I’ve gotten my groove back!

  • Starting Weight: 353.4 lbs
  • Last Week: 276.4 lbs
  • Current Week: 273.8 lbs
  • This week’s change: -2.6 lbs
  • Change overall: -79.6 lbs!

What? Almost 80 pounds? I can hardly believe it.

The last 6 months have gone by so quickly. Even though I still have a long way to go, I can’t believe how far I’ve come so quickly! NSV-wise, I bought 2 new pairs of Old Navy’s Pixie ankle pants – in a size 20! My last ones were a 26, and since I don’t have to unbutton them to take them on and off anymore, I thought it was time to replace them. The good thing about them is that they have quite a lot of stretch, so they fit when you’re bigger (as long as you don’t put them in the dryer!) and they fit 80 pounds later, too! Plus, I love colored/patterned pants since I am an old lady at heart. I seriously have the same clothing taste as my husband’s grandmothers – no exaggeration. We all love colored pants.

As for the step challenge, I put together this collage of the first 8 days. My goal in week 1 was 5,000 steps per day. This week (beginning yesterday) is set at 6,000 steps per day.

photo (5)

It all averaged out to above my daily goal! I also went for a few legitimate walks around my neighborhood. Yesterday, I walked down to the river and back (1.5-2 miles… I didn’t map it, but I will next time). Six months ago, I wouldn’t have even attempted that journey. The walk back is all uphill, and I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to make it back. Yesterday, that wasn’t a concern! My knees and hips are a little achy today, but I really enjoyed myself.

Also, thanks to Aubrie, I rediscovered my love of the Wii game Just Dance. She reminded me of it the other day, so I pulled it out and danced through a few songs. Consequently, I ordered one of the newer versions. It came today, and I am excited to give it a shot too!

I had off work yesterday thanks to MLK day, so I caught up on some heavy cleaning around my house, made my awesome buffalo chicken meat loaf, and Skinnytaste’s chicken taco chili – for the third time!

Annnnnnnnd! My husband won a contest at work. His prize was $250. Do you know what he did with that $250? He knew how much I wanted one, so he bought me a Dutch oven!!!! He told me that I deserve it, that he’s so proud of me for losing nearly 80 pounds, and that he’s not surprised at all that I did it. I have the sweetest, most thoughtful, mac-and-cheese-loving husband in the history of all husbands! It just came today, and I am excited to get started using it. I feel like Ree Drummond.

Do you know how hard it is to take a selfie with a 25-pound Dutch oven?

DutchOven5

So I called on D to take a few shots of me. Things quickly escalated to weird.

So much Dutch oven love. No, I didn’t purposely match my dress to it!

Tell me about your week! How were your steps? Any new, exciting NSVs??

21 thoughts on “Week 24 Weigh-In

  1. Yay! Look at you! You kicked my butt poundage-wise! For the first time in awhile, there’s more than a pound separating us now! I’ve got some major catching up to do! Well, major as in, like, 3 lbs! 😉

    And WOO HOO to size 20 Old Navy pants! We’re the same size at that store! I squeezed myself into a 20 a few weeks ago! 🙂

    That was so sweet of your husband! And you look FANTASTIC in those pictures! Super proud of you, lady! You definitely did deserve a reward for all of your hard work! 😀

    My steps are going super well (though you already know that from Fitbit), and I got called Skinny Minnie on Sunday (even though I’m definitely NOT skinny YET). That’s my NSV for the week! Ha!

    Liked by 1 person

    • See? I have to leave SOME mystery for the blog 😉 It’s an anticipation-builder! Anyway, I just had 2 pretty big loss weeks in a row, so I think you’ve got a pretty good shot of catching me this week!

      Also, thanks for the compliment! I am not a big fan of this dress, but it came from Gwynnie Bee, so I figured I’d wear it to work once and send it back.

      My husband has been so excited for me to share this Dutch oven story with my blog. Every day since he bought it, he’s said, “Did you write about it yet? Did you write about it yet?” I told him I was waiting to take pictures!

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s great, Alison. Is yours coated on the inside? Or is it just cast iron? We have one that is coated on the inside, and then 4 that are not. We use the coated one in the house, and the others for camping.

        When I say coated, I mean the enamel finish.

        Like

      • It’s enameled. I just adore it. I do have some regular cast iron skillets that belonged to my great-great aunt… I never used them much, but now I’m rethinking that!

        Like

      • We have 3 cast iron frying pans / skillets that we use. My wife is a wizard with them. As I said, when we camp everything is either grilled or in cast iron. I just love it.

        And as you found out in your photo shoot, they are a work out to lug around!

        Like

  2. Congrats! You look so great! I love that you both posted your days individually. You can really see that you are making some serious effort. My weigh day is tomorrow – fingers crossed that I have a good loss 🙂

    That dress looks great on you! Is it the same style as that green one from before?

    Amber

    Like

    • Thanks, Amber! I love having you two follow along with my steps (even though it’s driving me crazy! You know why :-p), and I find that it’s a great motivator. Even though it’s not posting the right amount of steps for me, it still tells you if I’ve met my goal or not! Gets my butt moving.

      Thanks for the dress compliment! This dress is different from the green one. The blue is a skater style dress (it actually made me feel a little frumpy), and the green was a sheath dress. I preferred the sheath!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Whoohoo! I absolutely LOVE this post. First off I want to say FANTABULOUS job. So proud of you! You look wonderful!!

    Congrats on the uphill walk! 😀 that’s a wonderful victory!!

    You also have definitely found yourself a great hubby. That was so sweet. If I was you, the water works would have been on full blast! (Haha im such a sap.)

    Oh, and yay for ordering another Just Dance! They are super fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

