Week 23 Weigh-In – Milestone Edition!

Well, I did it. I have officially lost over 75 pounds!

  • Starting Weight: 353.4 lbs
  • Last Week: 278.8 lbs
  • Current Week: 276.4 lbs
  • This week’s change: -2.4 lbs
  • Change overall: -77.0 lbs!

Somehow, 77 pounds seems like way more than the 74.6 I was down last week. To be honest, I hadn’t even considered the enormity of hitting the 75-pound mark since I was focused on my 25% goal (265.1), so now here I am, pleasantly surprised by how pleased I am with myself.


This morning, I worked from home. I signed off around 11, did some cleaning up, watched an episode of Mad Men while folding laundry. When I took the laundry upstairs to put it away, I really looked at my closet. I thought, “You’ve lost 75 pounds. You can’t wear size 28 pants anymore. You need to get rid of the things that don’t fit.” This is a lesson I learned the last time I embarked on a weight loss journey. While I bagged up the bigger clothes, I never got rid of them. I thought that when I got closer to my goal, I would take the plunge, and that didn’t happen. So, as I gained weight, I simply pulled the old clothes out as the newer ones didn’t fit. I’M NOT DOING THAT AGAIN.

I’m terrified that I’m going to get rid of these clothes and gain weight and not have anything to wear. Anyway, the clothes have to go (even the really pretty ones that I only wore once or twice… or not at all!). I’m moving forward, right? On the up side, I’m sure my boss would be understanding if I texted to say I was going to work from home because I didn’t have any clothes that fit.

It’s a big step. But I did it. I bagged them up.

01122015 2

And here’s what’s left!

01122015 1

Since today was the kick-off of Rachael’s walking challenge, going through this exercise was a good way of getting extra steps on what would normally have been a very sedentary day (working from home and it’s snowing). I also have a new body weight circuit workout lined up for tonight (I believe this is one that Gen had recommended a while back).

I’ve been toying with another idea. I would love to be able to give some of these clothes to good homes. It breaks my heart to send them to a thrift store in my tiny town, where no one will appreciate them! Tops range from 22/24-26/28 or 2X-4X (and Modcloth’s wonky sizing… they still fit in that range): 2 pant suits (jacket is smaller than the pants on both of them), a lovely ponte knit jacket, and more gorgeous blouses! Peter Pan collars and lace galore! Bottoms/dresses are in the 24-28 range (more Modcloth here too): some pants, pencil skirts, a maxi skirt, regular skirts, a few dresses (at least 2 of which were never worn). Would anyone be interested in seeing any of it? I’d be willing to send them to you, just as long as you cover the cost of shipping, or I’m sure we could come to some mutually-pleasing arrangement!

Anyway, I think that’s all I have for today. I do have another recipe planned for this week – a household favorite!

16 thoughts on “Week 23 Weigh-In – Milestone Edition!

  1. Great job with the weight loss!

    And most of all, great job with being able to pack the old clothes away and that you’re determined to get them out of your life. There’s no turning back – will continue forward 🙂

    Keep it up, you’re an inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a great accomplishment!! I am proud of you :). It will be good to get those clothes out of your house. The temptation to wear them even though they don’t fit will be gone. I have made it a habit of keeping my old clothes that are too small for me so it would motivate me to fit into them again. Don’t let your clothes that are too big do that to you! You’ve come so far and you’re still doing so great. Get rid of those clothes! 🙂

    Amber

    Like

  3. I am so proud of you + I absolutely told you that you could do it! You were so sure that you couldn’t drop 2+lbs. this week! I knew you would! 😉

    This is a huge milestone! You’re doing so great! Keep it up! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. CONGRATS!!! I was there a few weeks ago, hoping to get back there soon! It feels unreal, right? Get those clothes out of there ASAP, but don’t forget to keep a ‘before’ outfit! Sometimes when I’m feeling down about the process I’ll go put on my ‘before’ clothes and marvel about how far I’ve come!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

