Measuring Up: Month 5

This post includes awesome measurements and another awesome NSV! I really did take these measurements on January 1, but I have been dragging my feet about posting them! No specific reason, other than the I’m-missing-Christmas-vacation blues. I did shed 4.5 inches this month!

I know I mentioned it before, but I did not work out at all during December. I know I could have done better inches-wise if I had! The plan for this month is to get back on the workout wagon… and I know I’m going to pay for my lack of diligence!

Total Inches Lost: 29.5″

Waist to Hip Ratio: 0.711 (getting ever closer to that perfect pear!)

Waist:

  • Starting: 49″
  • Last month: 43.0″
  • Current: 41.25″
  • Overall Change: -7.75″

Right Bicep:

  • Starting: 21.0
  • Last month: 18.5″
  • Current: 18.5″
  • Overall Change: -2.5″

Bust:

  • Starting: 51″
  • Last month: 45.5″
  • Current: 43.25″
  • Overall Change: -7.75″

Right Thigh:

  • Starting: 35.5″
  • Last month: 32.0″
  • Current: 32.0″
  • Overall Change: -3.5″

Hips:

  • Starting: 66″
  • Last month: 60.0″
  • Current: 58.0″
  • Overall Change: -8.0″

Look at that! Those stubborn hips shed 2 whole inches last month! I’m actually very impressed.

NSV-wise, I signed up for Gwynnie Bee last month. For those of you who don’t  know, Gwynnie Bee is like the Netflix of clothes for plus-sized women! The first month is $10, and you can cancel at any time. I signed up thinking that I would cough up the $10 to try it out, and if I didn’t like it, I could cancel before paying $35 a month for the 1 garment at a time plan. Let’s just say that I am in love so far! As for the NSV, my first dress from them was a size 22! Considering I was wearing a 26 or 28 dress just 6 months ago, this is a huge deal. I don’t know how many of you follow me on Instagram, but I did post a photo of myself wearing that dress yesterday.

ElizaJgreenshift

Of course, it was big in the bust and a little snug across the hips, but c’est la vie! I felt so elegant and 60s-fabulous (though the hair was not cooperating, ha!). I added one of my vintage brooches to complete the look.

There’s something about the 70-pound mark that seems significant. Right around that milestone, I’m able to see big changes in myself (as I mentioned in this post), and work acquaintances start to stop me to ask me if I’ve lost weight and what I’ve been doing. It’s definitely an exciting time.

So, let’s get this body back in the swing of things! What are your favorite workouts? Any DVDs or websites you recommend?

20 thoughts on “Measuring Up: Month 5

  1. Oh my gosh! You look wonderful! That is a very big change in inches. It’s interesting to see a change in measurements even if the weight change isn’t very much. It’s a good way to stay motivated! I really love that dress 🙂

    Amber

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Amber! I think I might have to put that dress back in my Gwynnie Bee closet. I can’t stop thinking about it since I sent it back!

      And this is precisely why I do my measurements once a month! Though I sort of wish I had measured my neck, wrists and ankles too. Weird, I know, but I swear my neck is smaller even though I didn’t think it was really big to begin with!

      Liked by 2 people

      • I know what you mean! I did my measurements today and did my neck, calf, and muffin top area specifically. I know they aren’t the most conventional measurements, but I was curious so I tried it out. I am going to check monthly and see what comes out of it. I don’t really expect to see much change in my calf muscles…I feel like they’re pretty much just muscle, but I could be pretty wrong about that. Lol. 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      • I just realized that I didn’t post my calf measurement… but I have lost a whopping 0.25″ off the right one over the past 5 months! Haha They are obstinate, to say the least. I can’t wait to see your results!

        Liked by 2 people

  2. You look beautiful, Alison, and I really mean that! The dress looks fantastic on you, but there’s also a glow about you that has nothing to do with the dress! You look happy! You look GREAT!

    Congratulations on your inches lost, too! That is so amazing!

    I have been wanting to record my measurements for awhile, but I really don’t have anyone to help me do so, and when I tried to do it myself, it didn’t work out well. I was thinking of maybe staying back after one of my WW meetings and seeing if my leader would do it, but I feel awkward about asking her… I feel like there needs to be SOME boundaries! Hahah! But I feel like since she already knows my weight that measuring me wouldn’t be a big deal… I don’t know! We’ll see!

    Congratulations about making it to a size 22, as well! That’s amazing, and since I just went shopping myself, I know just how great it feels to get into smaller stuff! 😀

    It’s super interesting to me that we’re basically the same weight, yet we are completely different sizes! I started my journey in a size 22, and now I’m down to an 18 (or a 20 or 16 — depending on which jeans I squeeze myself into! ha!).

    I feel totally uneducated about the body now. I just saw that over on my blog you assumed/asked if I had an apple shaped body… honestly, I don’t know what my body shape is. I’ve basically walked around with no visible shape for the past decade. My clothes were just designed to hide! Now I’m figuring out all of this stuff about shopping and fashion and it’s overwhelming!

    Obviously there are things I seriously need to figure out!

    Yikes! :/

    Gwynnie Bee sounds really interesting! I will definitely check it out! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Like

    • It just occurred to me that you are like 7 inches taller than me, which could also account for the size difference!! Actually, according to my bust measurement, I’m at a 14/16 (I’m just not a very busty lady, haha), but my hips need the 22/24 still. It’s crazy to me how different our bodies are. You can tell your body shape bu dividing your waist measurement into your hip measurement. I believe you are an apple if that ratio is above 0.80, meaning you carry most of your weight in your middle, and you are a pear if that number is below 0.80, while a “perfect pear” is at 0.70.

      Anyway, I need to stop dragging my feet and get ready for work! I will follow up with you later 😉

      Like

  3. Looking good! It’s fun to see so many of us showing off new clothes for the new year. Just think how few of us would have posted pictures of ourselves on the internet at this time last year. I am feeling inspired today.

    Like

    • That’s a good point, Bobby! If I had posted a picture, it would have been strategically posed to hide… Undesirables… Lol! Maybe your recap post the other day inspired me 😉

      Like

      • You are sweet to say that, Alison. it always warms me to think that my little journey might inspire someone.

        Coming in the spring i am going to do what might be my most striking before / during pic ever. If you want to see the before, check out the awful pic on my “about” page for the health blog. 🙂

        Like

      • I will go check it out now! But isn’t it funny how those “horrible” pics, the ones we used to hide away in distant folders never to see the light of day, are now the ones we go searching for to use as comparison shots?

        Like

      • It definitely is funny. When I put that pic on my blog it was to be a reminder to myself of how bad I really did look. I was fighting off some denial by posting that picture. Now, when I post the update, it will be comic relief

        Liked by 1 person

  4. You look awesome! Congratulations! Enjoy this journey and drink in every compliment and ounce of happiness that it brings you. I reached my weight loss goal about three months ago and I’m still riding high on feeling healthy and looking fit. Keep at it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

