Week 22 Weigh-In

I rang in the new year with a little loss!

  • Starting Weight: 353.4 lbs
  • Last Week: 279.4 lbs
  • Current Week: 278.8 lbs
  • This week’s change: -0.6 lbs
  • Change overall: -74.6 lbs
  • Month 5 Change: -10.4!

I’m satisfied with that number. It was definitely a struggle! BUT I would like to point out that from the Monday before Thanksgiving until today, I have LOST 13.0 pounds. That’s pretty snazzy for 7 weeks during the Weight Watcher’s most feared season!

For me, New Year’s was harder than Christmas. We went over to my mom’s house and played Cards Against Humanity; I laughed so much that my face hurt. I did end up drinking, though I didn’t get drunk. I had 4 drinks, but I also had 2 hot dogs with sauerkraut on New Year’s Eve. Let me tell you about these hot dogs. My mom had regular hot dogs and Jennie-O turkey hot dogs both in the crock pot with the sauerkraut. Everything looked the same, so I’m not sure if I used 2 PP each or 5… It was a crapshoot!

Then, New Year’s Day, D’s parents took the whole family out to a pork and sauerkraut buffet (I had one small plate and no dessert)! After that, D’s brother spent a few days at our house, and many high-calorie food choices arrived in his wake. I tracked everything, and I was within my daily/weekly allotments, but I am so glad that the holiday season is behind me! I am ready to get back to “normal.”

For the first time, I truly experienced the peer pressure of, “Aren’t you taking a day off?” or “Is this a free day?” OR “Aren’t you having dessert?” I know they didn’t mean to make me feel badly, but it did. I felt like I was offending people because I wasn’t able to throw caution to the wind. I have been there, done that – a thousand times. I know what happens when you add “cheat days” to your food vocabulary. I don’t believe in cheat days. I don’t want to eat until I make myself sick. I don’t want to weigh 350 pounds again! In the same turn, I don’t know if my mindfulness perhaps makes people feel guilty about eating themselves into a food coma. I think that maybe they really were offended that I wasn’t willing to eat myself sick, like maybe they thought I was looking down on them. It’s not the case at all! But I’m not putting other peoples’ feelings ahead of mine anymore.

On the other hand, there are the, “You’re having ANOTHER one?” or the “Are you allowed to eat that?” people. Both definitely know how to rock a guilt trip. And yeah, I ran into both of these types this week. For the record, I am ALLOWED to eat whatever I dang well please! And if I want “another one,” that probably means I’ve already calculated it out for myself or I am absolutely aware of what I’m getting into!

I wasn’t intending for this to be my moment up on my soapbox, but it just kind of turned into that. It seems like everyone has an opinion on what I’m putting (or not!) in my mouth.

How was your New Year’s celebration? Are you as ready as I am to get back to normalcy?

17 thoughts on “Week 22 Weigh-In

  1. First…congrats on the Holiday loss. You did way better than me.

    Second … you have to love what you are doing and love yourself. Then it won’t matter what others think. Don’t let the food pushers or the gut mongers get you down. Make your choices, hold your head high and let them think /say what they want.

    You are a rock star

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bobby, you are absolutely right. And I really feel like I’m getting there! Caring about me, not just because I weigh less, but because I’m awesome!

      And you’re the rock star 😉

      Like

  2. Congrats on a great loss over the holidays!! I finally got under 300 on Christmas Day, and 299 never looked so good. I definitely have to try to the hot dogs and sauerkraut. That sounds like salty goodness. If you have one in your area, Trader Joes has the most amazing hot dogs…nitrates break out my skin and it’s hard to find nitrate free processed meat that isn’t a billion bucks, so that made me happy 🙂 It’s the little things…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I only wish I lived near a Trader Joe’s! I have to travel about 50 miles to the nearest one.

      Hot dogs or pork and sauerkraut is a Pennsylvania New Year’s tradition – it’s to bring you luck in the coming year! I don’t know how that got started, or who thought that spoiled cabbage was lucky, but it sure is tasty 😉

      I just got under 300 a few months ago and literally sobbed on the scale, so I totally understand! Congratulations on your huge milestone!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I know what you mean – the fact that I actually had a better-than-average month weight loss wise kind of surprised me. Maybe it’s the adversity that really gets me pumped up 😉 But really, so relieved. Haha

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Congratulations. You’ve just been my trigger! I’ve seen your losses seen you can do and suddenly a light bulb has came on and I feel so determined to succeed!

    Well done for the loss and I hope I will soon be losing weight and being as successful as you x

    Liked by 2 people

    • Oh my goodness, thank you so much for the kind words! And thank you for the reblog! I just know you can succeed, and we’re all here cheering you on. You don’t know how much motivation you’ve just given me!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Reblogged this on Destination Slim and commented:
    I am re blogging for the first time ever. I just want people to know that this blog has inspired me this morning and for some reason has just made me have a “ding” moment. People all over the world are succeeding and are real. None of these people are celebs who have forked out for nutritionist and a personal trainer and the best gym equipment money can buy – no they’re like me who struggle with life, people and everything in between.

    I want to thank “Journey to After” for being an inspiration to me and I hope she doesn’t mind me re blogging and letting others know how much someone else can help you x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ugh, I have been there. I think that maybe there is a “new” normal out there for you, especially since you’ve quit smoking. I am not the greatest expert on getting back on the wagon after falling off – it took me 4 years after the last time! All I know is that I was physically miserable before. I could barely walk, could barely put on socks and some of my sandals, and was constantly afraid of breaking things because I weighed too much. I have avoided visiting my family in California because I can’t face getting on an airplane and being forced to buy 2 seats. I avoid theme parks even though I love roller coasters because I know I wouldn’t have been able to walk all day or fit in any of the rides. I don’t want that for me anymore, and I don’t want it for you either! I think that, for me, remembering those reasons helps me to “stay on track” so far. I can’t speak for next week or 6 months from now, but I hope maybe this sparked some thought in you. Look truthfully at your reasons for wanting to lose weight in the first place.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Yay! Congratulations on another loss! We are super, super close this week—less than half a pound separates us! That’s awesome! 😀

    And you know what? New Year’s was harder for me, too. On NYE, I managed not to drink, but I over did it with the pizza. I was going to just have 2 slices of that Papa Murphy’s pizza I went and bought, but I ended up eating 4! I was still within my daily points, but I did NOT need to eat 4 pieces of pizza, ya know?

    So I totally understand what you mean!

    You and I have talked about cheat days before, too, and we’re on the same page there. I am so proud of you for how you dealt with the people who had an opinion about your food choices! Good for you! YOU are more important! YOU know what’s best for YOU — not them!

    I wish more people would just mind their own business, honestly. It’d be a lot easier that way.

    I went out to Subway for dinner with my friend tonight — the same friend I wrote about on my blog around Thanksgiving because he was the first to notice my weight loss.

    I ordered a 6″ veggie delight on Italian with spinach, tomatoes, onions, pickles, banana peppers, + avocado (7P+). I got apples instead of chips (0P+), + I got one of those little bottles of 1% milk (2P+).

    That order is the COMPLETE opposite of how I’d have usually ordered during my pre-WW days. I know my friend noticed, but he didn’t say a word — positive or negative. He just minded his own business. I don’t even think he realized how much that meant to me, but it did.

    I can manage my own food intake, thankyouverymuch! I don’t need any help in that department! We all are fully aware of ourselves! Ha! 🙂

    ANYWAYS! Sorry to ramble! 😉

    As always, I’m super proud of you, Alison. You are doing such a fantastic job! Keep moving forward! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    • You always know just how to make me smile! And I just can’t get over how neck-and-neck we have been.

      I obviously stayed up too late fiddling with my layout, and now my brain is just chugging along slowly, unable to formulate thoughtful comments 😉 I will get back to you tonight! Lol

      Like

  6. Pingback: Week 23 Weigh-In – Milestone Edition! | Journey to After

Leave a Reply

