Peanut Butter Cup Overnight Oats

Ok, I get it. The holidays are over. You’re in a sugar coma. BUT I have an excellent way for you to incorporate those lingering sugar cravings into healthy eating.

I was browsing the web for more overnight oatmeal recipes one day when I stumbled upon a peanut butter cup oatmeal recipe. I was super excited! I tried it, and I found it lackluster. I loved the idea of it so much that I started toying with it until I developed what I believe is the perfect flavor explosion of peanut butter cups for breakfast! It’s pretty high in points, but ask yourself: is a peanut butter cup mousse-like breakfast worth it? YES!

For those of you who have never tried overnight oatmeal before, the premise is simple. You mix the ingredients together the night before, portion into jars (or bowls) with lids, and it’s ready to eat in the morning! It’s good for up to two days. I’ve also made portions ahead of time and frozen them. Just move one from the freezer to the fridge the night before you plan to eat it!

Peanut Butter Cup Overnight Oatmeal

Prep time: 10 minutes

Total Time: 10 minutes

Servings: 2

Points +: 10

Ingredients

  • 3 Tbsp natural peanut butter (try to get something with only peanuts on the ingredient list! I like Crazy Richard’s and Smucker’s)
  • ¼ cup nonfat, plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 Tbsp cocoa powder
  • ½ cup fat-free milk (or any other milk of your choice)
  • 2 Tbsp baking blend stevia (or 3-4 packets stevia, will alter Points+ values)
  • 1 cup uncooked old-fashioned oats

pbcupoats1

Instructions

  1. Add the peanut butter to a medium, microwave safe bowl. Microwave for 10 seconds, stir, and microwave for another 10 seconds. Stir until smooth, repeat if necessary.
  2. Add the yogurt and cocoa powder, stirring until combined. The mixture will become mousse-like.
  3. Pour in the milk and stevia. Stir until reasonably smooth, then incorporate the oats. pbcupoats3
  4. Portion the mixture into two half-pint jars or other sealed container. Place in the refrigerator for at least one hour or until oats are softened. pbcupoats4

Seriously. You won’t regret this one!

4 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Cup Overnight Oats

  1. Oooh! Yummy! I’ve got an idea for you that could make this lower in points! Look for a product called PB2. Target or GNC has it. It’s powdered peanut butter that has had 85% of the fat and calories removed. You add one tablespoon of water to two tablespoons of PB2 and stir it up. I love peanut butter and use it in everything!
    You might be able to just mix it with the yogurt in this recipe.
    I’m about to begin my sugar detox after 3 days of feasting. I actually felt sick last night from all of the food!

    Like

    • I know exactly what you mean about the 3 days of feasting! I didn’t go above or beyond my Points allowance, but I was eating things that I’m not so used to eating anymore! I am feeling pretty icky today!

      I do have PB2, but I don’t often use it, unless it’s in a smoothie or something like that… And I can’t tell you the last time I ate a smoothie! Since I have a daily allowance of 41 PP, I still have lots of room for gigantic breakfasts, but I will have to play around with the PB2 and see what i can come up with. I think you’re right about just combining it with the Greek yogurt!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

