Week 17 Weigh-In

This is my week 17 weigh-in or the week in which I showed Thanksgiving who was boss.

  • Starting Weight: 353.4 lbs
  • Last Week: 291.8 lbs
  • Current Week: 289.2 lbs
  • This week’s change: -2.6 lbs
  • Change overall: -64.2 lbs
  • Month 4 change: -15.2 lbs

15.2 pounds in one month! That’s twice what I lost in October. I am very pleased.

I followed Rachael’s tip: 1 plate of food, whatever I wanted, so long as it wasn’t piled high and my food didn’t touch.

Turkey, sweet potato, mushroom stuffing, green bean casserole, mashed potatoes, and a little gravy

Turkey, sweet potato, mushroom stuffing, green bean casserole, mashed potatoes, and a little gravy

I had also prepared Weight Watchers Pumpkin Spice Cheesecake Bars for the occasion. I subbed in nonfat Greek yogurt for the sour cream, and they came out to 4PP per bar. Totally delicious and worth it! They were a hit; no one had a clue they were eating “diet food.”

thanksgiving14 1

 

So, Thanksgiving dinner was a success. I valued it at about 25 PointsPlus, which was well within my dailies. Afterwards, my brother-in-law came over, and much drinking ensued. I had two Captain and Pepsi Max drinks (I’ll admit I pour them strong). I had told myself and my husband that I would only have one drink, so that was a bit of a fail. In turn, those drinks led to a little binge. I had half a piece of the cheesecake above, half a piece of pumpkin pie, and 3 cinnamon graham crackers with peanut butter.

The binge was better than it would have been in the past, but it was still a binge. It was still that feeling of being out-of-control. I have felt it nipping at my heels ever since, that urge to just let go and do it again. I’ve fought it, but it’s scary how easily that comes back. Lesson learned: Captain Morgan is my gateway drug. As such, I am whole-heartedly joining helloallyson in #nodrinkdecember.

In other news, the Skinny Snowman Challenge started yesterday. So far, it’s been a very positive experience, and I’m excited to try something new to help get through the holidays!

I plan to do my measurements tonight, so we will see if the tape tells a different story from the scale!

How was your Thanksgiving?

8 thoughts on “Week 17 Weigh-In

    • I just keep telling myself that there is no other option. I do not, under any circumstances want to go back to where I was, over 200 pounds overweight, barely able to walk because I was constantly injuring myself due to neglecting my health and well-being. I keep that “why” in my head. I CAN’T stop because I know exactly how hard it is to start over again and redo all the hard work.

      Like

  1. Yay! Congratualtions! I am so happy for you! I’m glad you used my little plate trick and that it worked for you! A loss of 2.6 lbs. after Thanksgiving is AMAZING! You lost more than I did that week!

    And I’m super proud of you for controlling your “binge” too! Honestly, I don’t even know if that can rightfully be called a binge. Half a piece of WW cheesecake, half a piece of pumpkin pie, and 3 cinnamon graham crackers with peanut butter? That sounds like a large snack to me. You and I both know what a real binge is like 😉

    Those WW cheesecake bars are 5PP, so half of one is about 2PP. A piece of regular pumpkin pie is 8PP, so half of one is 4PP. And 3 full-fat cinnamon graham crackers would be 6PP, bringing your total to 12PP + the peanut butter (which varies depending on how much you used). That’s not that bad for a “binge”! You mostly stayed in control, which is so, so great! I hope you are proud of yourself!

    I am so happy for you and proud of you! Keep going! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

