Week 16 Weigh-In

I was really worried that I was going to keep up my trend of gaining every other week, but I broke that streak!

  • Starting Weight: 353.4 lbs
  • Last Week: 292.6 lbs
  • Current Week: 291.8 lbs
  • This week’s change: -0.8 lbs
  • Change overall: -61.6 lbs

With the exception of my weigh-in posts, I have really been slacking on my blogging lately. I have a few posts floating around in my head that I just need to sit down and write, including at least 2 recipes and probably about 3 other posts that require actual thinking to write out.

I have been cooking a lot lately. I made this Buffalo Chicken Lasagna recipe yesterday, and it was a hit with the husband and even the little brother! I can’t think of a thing I would change about it (though I poached and shredded the chicken instead of cubing it because I am lazy and also didn’t like the idea of chicken chunks in my lasagna).

I can tell that my body is changing, and I am feeling much better overall. With these changes has come much dancing to oldies while cooking, washing the dishes, cleaning, and even while typing this post! I seriously just took a dance break when “Do You Love Me” by The Contours came on. It is a very rare occasion that I listen to music from this century. Some day, I will go into my love of all things vintage and mod at length… including the fashion that is one of my biggest motivators for getting healthy.

This afternoon I got to thinking about all that dancing and thought that maybe a few months from now, I would like to take dancing lessons. I always wanted to learn swing dancing (I love both playing and listening to big band music! I think I should learn to dance to it too!), but I was always too self-conscious and out-of-shape to give it a shot.

The Glenn Miller Orchestra

What things are you thinking of doing now that you’re not allowing yourself to be limited by your fear?

8 thoughts on “Week 16 Weigh-In

  1. Love this. There are many things for me
    Here is a small one. I say hello to people at the gym. I don’t walk with my hood up and head down anymore.

    So you think all this random dancing is contributing to the subject of your next post? The TMI one? Lol

    Like

  2. Yay! 0.8 lbs. might not be what you’re used to seeing, but a loss is a loss! I’m so happy for you!

    How funny that I just got done telling you over on my blog that I feel especially connected to your story because we are so similar, and then I come here and read this and find another similarity to add to the list, too! Dancing!

    I’ve wanted to learn how to dance for forever, it seems. I’ve always wanted to learn to swing dance or maybe salsa! I want to learn something fun and partner-oriented. Several weeks ago, I actually started researching places where I could go to take classes in my hometown, and I found a lot of great information about swing dancing, which I actually posted about on Deborah Crocker’s blog after she posted something about dancing, too.

    I have promised myself that once I lose 100lbs., swing dancing classes are going to be my reward. Once I can get down to 218.2lbs.—exactly 100lbs. from where I started from—I will sign up to take a class and I will do something I’ve always dreamed about. I’ve actually started saving a little money each month so that when the time comes I won’t have any excuses for not doing it!

    Also, someday soon I’d like to swim again. I loved swimming when I was a kid. When I was super young (before I even started school), I’d spend every day at the pool. In the summer I’d take swim lessons and free-swim at the community pool, and in the winter I’d go to the indoor pool on the army base near my grandparents’ home and swim there. I loved it so much, and even though I was always a bigger kid, I didn’t let that bother me. I’d throw on my ugly one piece and just go swim, and I loved it so much.

    I haven’t dipped a foot in the swimming pool since I was 15, though, because that’s really when I started to let my weight dictate my life. I’m still not comfortable in a swim suit, but in a few months I’m hoping that changes. By summer, I’d like to start swimming again. That’s the goal. 🙂

    I am super proud of your accomplishments, Alison, and I hope you do learn to swing dance! We should all get to do the things we’ve dreamed of!

    Keep up the great work, and have a lovely week! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

