Rough Week

It’s just been a rough week. One of those weeks where it seems like everything that can go wrong, will. I’m just feeling extra sensitive (thanks, PMS), and it’s only adding to the absolute cloud of crap hovering over me. Tonight, after some more distressing news, I was so close to just ordering a pizza instead of cooking dinner. I had the phone in my hand and my credit card ready to go, but I held it together and made Skinnytaste’s Roasted Potatoes, Chicken Sausage and Peppers, though I used some pork sausage that I had on hand instead. It was seriously delicious and way better than that pizza would have been.

dont_give_up

I’m proud that I haven’t given in to my cravings and emotional eating, but I am stressed and honestly am at a loss as to how to cope with it outside of eating or drinking away my feelings. I had thought about doing yoga to relieve the stress, but I just… didn’t have it in me.

Giving up on this journey isn’t hurting anyone but me, and it’s not an option. One day of emotional eating isn’t going to undo the scale victories, but it will play a big part in undoing the mental strides I have made.

Any tips?

7 thoughts on “Rough Week

  1. Breathe, cry, try again tomorrow.

    Sometimes I find a good workout actually induces tears. Sometimes I know what theyre about, sometimes I don’t, but the release always feels me leaving emotionally lighter.

    Good luck! Chin up. 🙂

    Like

  2. I literally felt like I read my thoughts for this week. This week I’m exhausted, falling into my old sleep patterns and let a few things get in the way of my workouts.
    I’m discouraged. First thing I did was go for a walk with a friend. We have walk and talk dates instead of coffee and I felt better already. Then I sat down and wrote 5 things I like about myself and 5 things that I have accomplished. The first few times you do it you might find it hard but sometimes all you need is to force yourself to recognise positivity.

    Like

  3. I don’t really know that I’m far along enough into my journey to be in a position to dole out advice, but I will anyways.

    Once I moved past my compulsion to binge last week, I turned on an episode of the British T.V. show Supersize v. Superskinny. The show has become somewhat of an obsession for me recently (thank you, YouTube!). On the particular episode I happened to flip on, they showed footage of a morbidly obese woman who weighed upwards of 500 lbs. She was completely bedridden, and because of her small stature, that 500 lbs. actually looked more like 1,000 lbs., and it was no wonder she was totally and completely immobile. She came on the show via video message to try to get a point across to the person in the feeding clinic that was struggling with obesity. She said a lot of things in her message, but what stuck out to me most was when she said, “That little voice in your ear — the one that’s saying, ‘I’ll start my diet tomorrow. I’ll start tomorrow…’ — That voice is trying to kill you. Don’t listen to it.”

    At the end of the show, they put a horribly sad R.I.P. message on the screen, letting viewers know that the woman had died just a few months after filming for the show. And when I saw that, I thought to myself, “Wow. She was right. That voice IS trying to kill you.”

    So, yeah, you’re right — one day of stress/emotional eating won’t undo all of the visible progress you’ve made in regards to the scale, but that little voice that we all have whispering in our ears WILL undo the mental progress you’ve made.

    And that’s why my advice is to just forget the stress. Forget. It.

    When I started my journey, my BMI was 48.4. Now, after losing nearly 16 lbs., it’s 46.0. Do you know that a “life threatening” BMI is anything 50 and above? When you have a BMI over 50, that’s when you’re at risk of actually dying due to your weight. I’m a couple months shy of 22, and just over a month ago, I was only a handful of pounds away from being at a BMI of 50. That is absolutely terrifying to me.

    And that’s kept me from slipping back into old habits.

    Stress and sadness and whatever eventually goes away — I’ve sat and thought about that idea basically nonstop over the past week. The bad stuff isn’t bad forever. I bet that if you think back to 5 years or so ago, you could barely remember the stuff from your day-to-day life that stressed you out. Sure, you’d remember the big things, but how much of what actually makes us want to eat, in the grand scheme of things, is actually “the big stuff” ?

    When you want to preserve your mindset, just think about the fact that that voice inside your head that’s telling you to eat is actually telling you to slowly but surely kill yourself. Think about the fact that stress fades.

    That’s what I’m doing, and that’s gotten me through one crazy compulsion. I know avoiding one compulsion doesn’t seem like that big of a deal, but to the girl who ate 5 double cheeseburgers from McDonald’s the day before she went to her first WW meeting as “one last hoorah” before making that “big life change,” avoiding one binge was huge.

    And, from now on, I’m going to be thinking about the fact that the voice that’s telling me to binge or to stress eat or compulsively eat or overeat is as good as telling me to kill myself, and maybe if you also think that, it will work for you, too, because your stress will fade, but, as far as I know, we only have one life to live, and we shouldn’t also let that fade… Even though we are both young, we aren’t immune to the horrible ailments and maladies associated with being overweight. Scary, but true.

    Stick to your goals and don’t let stress take you out this way — I know you can do it, and you are a HUGE inspiration to me. Seriously. Your thoughtful comments on my blog and your honest posts here are a good reminder for me to keep going. You’re doing great. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow, I think Rachaelxoxo said it ALL!!!

    Give yourself a pat on the back for modifying your stress-splurge into something better for you! When I have all those stresses circling in my head that don’t want to let me sleep, I use some calming essential oils, and also some meditation tracks on my mp3 player to help focus on instead of the hamster wheel inside my head. Hang in there! ❤

    Like

  5. I just went through something totally similar in one of my previous posts. Remember the DQ and Chinese food? Unfortunately, I gave into it but I woke up the next day, got my shit together, and continued on my way. As hard as setbacks are you mentally, they are not the end of the world, and I promise we all have them! Stay strong but do what you need to do for yourself and do what would make you happy. You’ve been doing so well.

    Like

  6. This too shall pass.

    Sometimes that phrase helps me a lot and sometimes it makes me want to throw things at whoever said it, so I’m hoping it’s the former for you (and glad we’re not in the same room if it’s the latter) 🙂 It is true though. PMS is a bitch, I know for me life can sometimes seem bleak and everything hopeless when I’m feeling so damned emotional. Remember that very soon you’ll be feeling better and less overwhelmed about things (seeing as this was 2 days ago, hopefully you already are!) And good for you for resisting that pizza! That was a huge accomplishment!!! Please don’t beat yourself up over the temptation. I’m anticipating those impulses being something I’ll have to deal with (hopefully less and less frequently) for the rest of my life. If I get upset with myself for having them, or for giving in occasionally, I’m just going to do even more damage in the long run. Remember that 20 steps forward and one step back is still getting you where you want to go pretty well. We’re here for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

