Confession Time

Ok, so we went to Applebee’s with the in-laws yesterday. I started out strong and ordered my pre-planned meal, the Grilled Chicken Caesar Salad without dressing, and fat-free Italian dressing on the side. All was well until my father-in-law ordered a pitcher of light beer for us to celebrate our 4 years of wedded bliss. I had 8 ounces, and it was a delightful flavor explosion! I haven’t had any beer in at least 71 days (the amount of time I have been on this journey… and probably at least a few weeks longer than that), and I would say it was worth it.

I didn’t stop there! When I finished my salad, I also had a breadstick… and 3 glasses of water with lemon.

So, I wasn’t bad. I went in prepared and ended up adding 2 extras, which I counted. Just thought you ought to know!

However, just as I predicted, I was hungry about an hour and a half later while we were in the movie theater. Fortunately, I had brought a granola bar that did the trick just fine. 

All in all, it was a nice time out with my in-laws. When we got back to their house, they ushered us inside to present our anniversary gift. Every year, D’s mom puts together a “traditional” anniversary gift, which is pretty neat (not to mention, thoughtful!).

The first year, we got a gigantic box of paper products (I am still working my way through the napkins… that’s not an exaggeration). Year 2: potholders and kitchen towels (and maybe something else that I can’t remember right now). Year 3: a crystal candy dish (I have this on my coffee table and use it for those dental flossers… my theory is that flossing in front of the TV is easier than trying to remember to do it immediately before bed every night… yes, I realize how weird that is).

I pulled out my Nikon to snap this shot, only to find that my battery was dead! iPhone it is, then...

I pulled out my Nikon to snap this shot, only to find that my battery was dead! iPhone it is, then…

This year, we got flowers and fruit. I mean, the most gigantic mum I have ever seen and about 15 pounds of fruit. Bananas, a pineapple (my favorite!), apples, pears (my other favorite!), oranges, grapefruit, grapes, peaches! I think I’m going to have to take some of this fruit into the office to share because there’s no way I can eat all of it before it goes bad… at least the grapes. Maybe I will have to make D the apple dumplings he keeps asking for, too!

Anyway, with D at work today, I finished my grocery shopping, did 2 loads of laundry, threw Skinnytaste’s Crock Pot Chicken Taco Chili into the crock pot and am now taking a little break before tackling the dishes and folding my laundry!

4 thoughts on “Confession Time

  1. what a beautifully thoughtful mother in law you have! When I end up with extra fruit I blend them together like a smoothie and freeze them into ice cubes. Then when I make a batch of ice tea I add a few of them to make it a real fruity sweet ice tea – without the sugar….or the guilt 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Weeks 19 and 20 Weigh-Ins | Journey to After

Leave a Reply

