Week 9 Weigh-In

Like I said, I totally crashed after work yesterday and didn’t get a chance to make my weigh in post. I slept for a good 10 hours, so I’m good to go tonight! Without further interruptions…

  • Starting Weight: 353.4 lbs
  • Last Week: 311.6 lbs
  • Current Week: 309.6 lbs
  • This week’s change: -2.0 lbs
  • Change overall: -43.8 lbs

9.2 pounds to go to hit my 15% weight loss! It was a good week. Different, because I was tracking regular Points. Based on past weight loss experience, I plateaued every 9 weeks, and I wanted to avoid that.

I would be lying if I said I didn’t struggle to hit my daily Points Plus target of 44. Most days, I didn’t make it, but I also don’t believe in eating just because I have the Points available. If I’m hungry, I’ll eat, but otherwise, it’s too reminiscent of my binge-eating ways. I know that those targets are there for a reason, and that I should make every effort to meet that target. I do eat enormous breakfasts of 10-14 Points and still eat every 2-3 hours to prevent hunger. I have found that my body is now used to eating so frequently. It knows when it’s time to eat, a well-oiled machine!

Tonight, I made one of my husband’s favorite meals: a Taco Ring. It’s not something I would have made while following Simply Filling, but he was a very happy boy! While it’s not healthy, the Points value isn’t terribly high, and it’s pretty tasty.

Note: I’ve been mixing my own taco seasonings for quite a while now… mainly because I’m cheap. I’ve used a couple different recipes, and I’m including one below!

Turkey Taco Ring

Taco Ring 2

Prep time: 20 minutes

Total Time: 40 minutes

Servings: 6 Points +: 11

WPA Simply Filling: 8

Ingredients

  • 1 lb lean ground turkey breast
  • 1 packet taco seasoning (or see below to make your own!)
  • 2 cans reduced fat crescent rolls
  • 1/2 c shredded cheddar or Mexican blend cheese

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F.
  2. In a medium skillet, brown ground turkey. Break up as it cooks, until no pink remains. Drain off any excess liquid.
  3. Add taco seasoning to skillet and cook for an additional minute or two, or follow package directions.
  4. On a large cookie sheet or pizza stone, arrange the crescent rolls into a circular sun shape, overlapping the triangles. Add the taco meat to the ring, sprinkle with cheese, and pull the pointed ends of the pastry up and over the meat and cheese, pinching to secure.
  5. Bake for 15-20 minutes in the preheated oven, or until pastry is a golden brown.
  6. Top with lettuce, salsa, fat-free plain Greek yogurt, and all your favorite taco fixings!

Taco Seasoning (from Wellness Mama)

  • ¼ cup Chili Powder
  • ¼ cup Cumin Powder
  • 1 tablespoon Garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon Onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon Oregano leaf (or oregano leaf powder)
  • 1 teaspoon Paprika
  • ¼ cup Himalayan salt or Sea salt (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon ground pepper
Instructions
  1. Put all in jar and shake well or mix in a food processor until mixed. Store in an airtight jar for up to six months. Makes approximately 1 cup. To use: sprinkle on ground beef or chicken as you would any store bought taco seasoning. 2 1/2 to 3 tablespoons is the same as 1 packet of store bought taco seasoning.

Side note: I am still tweaking the most delicious overnight oat recipe ever. I hope to soon perfect and post it because seriously, wow.

9 thoughts on “Week 9 Weigh-In

  1. this looks SO good!!! I’m wondering as I am vegetarian do you think I could substitute kidney beans for the mince and it still taste ok? It’s always hard to guess.
    I’m also doing a challenge to all my blogging friends to post a photo of themselves at any stage or life that they loved and say why, it might be because of size, shape, tone, what you wore or who was with you! Then tag your post with the word pblogdotco so that you can see everyone else’s posts. The idea is that we all look at fitspiration posts but in reality we will still be us. Learn to love how your body changes while you work on it 🙂

    Like

    • To be honest, I’m not totally sure how kidney beans would turn out. If I ever served a strictly vegetarian meal in my house, I think my husband would walk out 😉

      But now you’ve got me thinking, and the flavor should be on. Maybe try black beans?

      And I love your fitspiration idea! I have just the picture in mind!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great work! Love that you are seeing all sorts of NSV’s and SV’s 🙂 And love that you post your own recipes so often. It’s great to see you so motivated 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Jalapeno Popper Turkey Chili | Journey to After

Leave a Reply

