Week 8 Weigh-In

I haven’t written very much in the past week. I’ve been pretty busy, and I faced some challenges. Before I get into all that, the numbers!

  • Starting Weight: 353.4 lbs
  • Last Week: 312.4 lbs
  • Current Week: 311.6 lbs
  • This week’s change: -0.8 lbs
  • Change overall: -41.8 lbs

This means that I lost 12.8 pounds in the month of September (my second month)! I think that’s pretty amazing.

Last week, I had put together 7 crockpot freezer meals, and we only ate one of them! I tried out this BBQ chicken recipe. It was pretty tasty, and it lasted through a lot of meals. I used it as sandwiches and as salads. So, I didn’t have to do as much prepping as usual this Sunday, and that was really nice. I cashed in on Kmart’s double coupons and Shop Your Way Rewards. I got $36 worth of stuff for FREE. So excited. I also saved 65% at the grocery store. Seriously, an awesome coupon week.

But this blog isn’t about my awesome coupon skillz (though those are totally valid and important!). My first problem with this week: my work from home schedule got screwed up. I normally work from home on Mondays and Fridays, and I honestly prefer to walk while I’m at the office. I don’t know what it is about walking near home that I don’t like… probably that I’m a hermit and don’t like to interact with my neighbors or have people I know drive by and see me. Weird, I know. Anyway, I walked 25 minutes on both Monday and Tuesday (at work), but I worked from home on Wednesday because I had meetings I couldn’t miss all the other days. I decided that Wednesday would be my rest day… this leads into my next excuse/complaint/challenge.

Second, I got my period. I know, I know. Guys don’t want to hear about it, and well, ok, no one wants to hear about it. But I’ve been miserable since Thursday.

My final issue: my husband started a new job yesterday. The job itself is great and not a problem! There’s a story here. This job is 65 miles from our house (we live in a very rural area; my office is 45 miles from our house), so we made the decision that he should have a “beater” car to drive to and from work, so as not to 1. ruin his beautiful truck and 2. spend a kajillion dollars on gas. D finds the beater car of his dreams on Craigslist, and it just so happens to be down in Maryland. He picked me up from work on Thursday, and we drove my car down to see this car. This trip was actually quite the adventure, but that’s a story for another time. We ate at Subway on our way down (ugh, I know.), and I retained water from the mass amounts of sodium AND my period until yesterday.

This trip sort of threw me off my game. I found myself totally unprepared for what I would eat on our little journey. I just picked the nearest place I saw on the GPS that wasn’t McDonald’s or a Burger King. It made me feel so out of control, and I hated it.

inspiration 092914

I need to remember this more.

This out of control feeling sort of lasted the rest of the weekend (until I got tons of free stuff on my shopping trips yesterday). We went to my mom’s on both Friday and Saturday, and her husband refuses to eat what he refers to as “diet shit,” AKA food that isn’t deep fried, doused in butter, or covered in flour (he made me “diet chicken” that was bone-in, skin-on drumsticks and thighs that he covered in Shake ‘n Bake and flour and baked). In order to regain some semblance of control, I ate before I went there on Friday, and I switched to regular points tracking on Saturday (I totally had a hamburger, and it was delicious).

 

I remember that the last time I went on this weight loss journey, I plateaued about every 9 weeks. I’m trying to avoid hitting a plateau just yet, so I’ve decided to stick with regular points tracking for the next week or so. It’s been sort of liberating eating some things I wouldn’t normally eat (like pumpkin spice coffee creamer!) because I didn’t want to waste my weekly allotted 49 points with the Simply Filling technique. Don’t get me wrong: I LOVE Simply Filling. I can’t say enough good things about it. It promotes healthy and cleaner eating habits than most plans. Honestly though, between my raging hormones and the rift in my routine, standard Points tracking was just the flexibility I needed.

For me, tracking every little thing I eat isn’t a sustainable lifestyle change. I know I will be going back to Simply Filling, but for now, I will enjoy just tracking. We’re having chicken sausage in tomato sauce with peppers and onions for dinner, and I am super excited that the chicken sausage can just come out of my daily allowance instead of my weekly allowance!

Moral of the story in this totally jumbled rant: my food was on point for the week (except for icky sodium-filled Subway), but my exercising suffered. Today was the first I really had any physical activity since last Tuesday.

Today, I pulled out my Power 90 DVDs and was pretty pumped to rediscover how much I really enjoyed doing them. My lunges and squats have improved immensely! I can’t believe how much better they are than they were just 8 weeks ago.

I also just remembered that I forgot to take my measurements since this is the end of my second month! I’ll do that tonight before bed and post the results later this week.

How was your weigh in?

7 thoughts on “Week 8 Weigh-In

Leave a Reply

