Mexican Quinoa and Sweet Potato Casserole

Part of my Sunday routine involves first grocery shopping and then making 2 or 3 meals for the week. Because my husband and I don’t work the same schedules, it’s nice that there’s always something available for him to warm up, and it’s super awesome to have a pre-made option on work nights when I just don’t have it in me to cook something.

I also made quite the killing at the grocery store this week.

receipt 9-7-14

My mom the extreme couponer is really proud of me.

Anyway, I know I mentioned a few weeks ago that I have been on a Mexican food kick. This obsession hasn’t stopped in recent weeks. Thanks to Pinterest, I chose two new recipes to try from this post. I’ll be talking about the other one later! As for this one, it combined the Mexican kick with my craving for sweet potatoes.

Mexican Quinoa and Sweet Potato Casserole

1-DSC_0008

Prep time: 5-10 minutes

Total Time: 1 hour, 40 minutes

Servings: 9

Points +: 6

WPA Simply Filling: 0

Ingredients

  • 1 cup quinoa, uncooked and rinsed
  • 1 cup vegetable broth (I used reduced sodium fat-free chicken broth)
  • 2 cans black beans, rinsed (15 oz each)
  • 2 cans diced tomatoes + juices (15 oz each)
  • 5 cups salsa (I used mild)
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder (for less spicy cut in half)
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne (I cut in half, but next time will use the whole thing)
  • 2 large sweet potatoes, peeled and diced

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Then, spray a large baking dish with nonstick cooking spray and place all ingredients into dish. Mix until everything is evenly combined. Bake, covered with tin-foil, for about 75 minutes or until sweet potatoes are tender and quinoa is cooked (it took me an additional 20 minutes).

1-DSC_0433

 

1-DSC_0002

Fit Foodie Finds also made a chipotle yogurt sauce to go with it, but I just topped ours with some plain, non-fat Greek yogurt. It was very filling, and quite yummy.

1-DSC_0011

Leave a Reply

