Let’s Talk Goals!

Since busting through the 30-day mark, I’ve been giving some serious thought to my goals, both long-term and short-term. I’m still not totally set on quantifiable long-term goals, but at my height (5’1”), the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute pigeonholes me here:

Height Weight Range BMI Weight Status
5′ 1″ 98 lbs or less Below 18.5 Underweight
100 lbs to 132 lbs 18.5 to 24.9 Normal
133 lbs to 157 lbs 25.0 to 29.9 Overweight
158 lbs or more 30 or higher Obese

My current BMI? 61.2. Off the charts. Also, does it seem crazy to anyone else that someone who weighs 133 pounds is overweight?

At this point, I feel like I would settle for just being overweight! Ultimate, end-game goal? 150, but subject to change. Total weight loss of 203.4 pounds. It makes me sick when I think that far ahead, so I’m focusing on short-term goals for the time being.

  1. Get moving! Work out at least 4 days per week in September: I was pretty lax on working out in month 1, so my big goal for this month is to truly implement activity. I have a pretty extensive fitness DVD collection, and there’s a ton of stuff on Amazon Prime, so I am definitely covered in the content department.
  2. Post one recipe per week: I cook a lot, and I like to cook a great variety of things, but I’m not always good about photographing my food before I devour it (tonight, we had perch! There’s no photo of it.). I want to make a concerted effort to blog more recipes.
  3. Hit my 10% (318.1) goal this month:3 pounds to go! As a reward for meeting this goal, I’m still stuck between a new slow cooker (I HATE the Crock-Pot I bought a few months ago to replace one that had cracked) and a FitBit Flex for my reward.
  4. 15% (300.4) by Thanksgiving: 12 weeks to Thanksgiving, and 24 pounds to reach 15%. I’m rewarding myself with a long-due haircut!
  5. Lose 100 pounds (253.4) by my 30th birthday – 6/6/2015: This is about as long-term as I’m going at this point. With 40 weeks to go, and 29 pounds gone already, this means I need to lose 1.5-2.0 pounds per week, which is a totally reasonable and healthy rate. I also don’t like to think about turning 30, haha!

I have one more thing I wanted to share. I’m sure I’ve mentioned before that I am a financial analyst. I am a gigantic nerd, and last night, I created a pivot table and chart for my workout log. I can’t even help myself when it comes to numbers, charts, percentages, and statistics.

Oh, and here is an awesome picture of me after last night’s workout.

Sweatastic

Sweated my makeup right off!

6 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Goals!

  1. You are doing great. Keep up the momentum.

    One bit of caution on goal setting. You have had success focusing on short term, manageable goals. I get concerns ed when I see you laying out timetables for the bigger numbers. I don’t want to see you set yourself up for failure. I really suggest that you stuck to focusing only on the next step. Just my 2 cents worth. I want to see you continuing on this road.

    Like

    • Oh, Bobby! I love that you’re always looking out for everyone. Thank you for the sound advice. I’m not married to the idea of losing 100 pounds by my birthday, but it keeps me looking forward, at least a little bit. Honestly, I’m more focused right now on non-quantifiable goals, such as FEELING more energized, getting to the point where my knees don’t crunch when I walk up or down stairs, successfully doing lunges, or being able to ride my bike again!

      Like

  2. You go girl! Those small goals are going to get you to those big goals!! I am so proud of you! and I am right there with ya.. I would give my left foot just to be under 200lbs. I am so grateful I found your blog and get to follow your journey 🙂 I feel like I know you already, keep it up honny! We will get there!

    Like

  3. Love those goals! I am also hoping to hit my 10% goal in September. The Fitbit Flex is a great reward — I got one in July and I wear it every day! It’s awesome. Best of luck to you!

    Like

    • Thank you! And I just found a great deal on the FitBit Flex, sooo I think I may be going with that instead of the crockpot. I’ll keep using the stupid, crazy hot one I have for the foreseeable future, haha!

      Like

Leave a Reply

