Chicken Roll-Ups with Mushrooms, Garlic and Thyme

chickenmushroomroll

Driving home from work the other day, I had a stroke of genius. I was thinking about the cremini mushrooms I had in the fridge that needed to be used up, and it hit me: mushrooms… garlic… THYME… rolled up in chicken! Wow. The thyme is a perfect complement to the mushroom flavor, and the chicken stays so tender and juicy! Sometimes, my brain has winning ideas. 

I was super excited to eat my leftover roll-up at lunch the next day, along with the zucchini and yellow squash that I roasted, so I had two unintentionally carb-free meals, but were they ever tasty! Also, I was really hungry, so I only took one picture with my phone. I apologize.

Chicken Roll-Ups with Mushrooms, Garlic and Thyme

Prep time: 5 minutes

Total Time: 40 minutes

Servings: 4

Points +: 4

WPA Simply Filling: 0 (as long as you haven’t met your daily 2 tsp of healthy oil)

Ingredients

  • 2 large or 4 medium (about 1 lb) boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 8 oz cremini or Baby Bella mushrooms, coarsely chopped
  • 1 tsp dried thyme

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F and grease a shallow baking dish.
  2. Cut the chicken breasts in half lengthwise if they are very thick so that there are 4 fillets. Place them between 2 pieces of plastic wrap to tenderize and pound them thin (I use my rolling pin). Set aside.*
  3. Heat olive oil in a skillet on medium heat until just smoking. Add the minced garlic and cook until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Stir in the mushrooms and thyme. Sauté 4-5 minutes, stirring frequently, or until the mushrooms begin to release their juices. Remove from heat.
  4. Top each of the chicken fillets with a thin layer of the mushroom mixture and roll them tightly. You can secure them with toothpicks if desired, but I just place them seam-side down in the prepared baking dish. Top the roll-ups with the remaining mushroom mixture and bake uncovered for 25-30 minutes. Serve immediately.

*Note: If you have a cat, now is a good time to have your husband put her in another room!

One thought on “Chicken Roll-Ups with Mushrooms, Garlic and Thyme

Leave a Reply

