The First Two Weeks

As I mentioned in my last post, I have felt anything but deprived since starting to follow Simply Filling. I have been singing its praises to everyone! I am also hoping that “coming out of the closet” will help me to stay on track – the fear of disappointing others and failing publicly is a pretty good motivator to keep going.

Anyway, all this wonderful and natural food seems to be tasting better and more satisfying than whatever I was eating before. Instead of mindlessly wolfing down chicken tenders and curly fries while working through my lunch, I’ve taken time to thoroughly enjoy the fruits of my labors. And wow, it’s been delicious.

This week’s food highlights… Salad Edition!

Fruit Salad: I picked up a pound of strawberries and a pineapple to go along with some blueberries I had in the freezer made an awesome fruit salad. At the last minute, I threw in a banana too.

fruit-salad

Few things in this world are more delightful than fresh pineapple.

Taco Salad: Ok, so this next one is from last week, but I didn’t post it before, and the husband told me I had “really outdone” myself, so I figure it should be given its moment in the spotlight. My mother-in-law bought me those Perfect Tortilla pans for Christmas, so I used whole wheat FlatOuts to make tortilla bowls for taco salads with ground turkey and topped with refried beans, salsa, tomatoes, jalapenos, and Greek yogurt. They were incredible.

taco-salad

D wanted to eat both of them!

Strawberry, Almond, Chicken Salad with Feta Cheese and Poppyseed Dressing: This takes us to Thursday night. I’ve had this salad stuck in my head since I had it in the cafeteria at work last summer, and I don’t know why I never bothered to make it before, but it was worth the wait! I called D and asked him to start grilling up some chicken tenderloins to have them ready for when I got home. He’s awesome, so he obliged. I wish I had snapped a shot of the look on his face when he realized we were eating them with lettuce AND strawberries. He was surprised by how much he loved it. Also, if you haven’t tried it, Panera’s Fat-Free Poppy Seed Dressing goes perfectly with fruity, summery salads like this, and I highly recommend it! Please try not to be too jealous by the photos below:

strawberry-chicken2 strawberry-chicken1

Annnnnd this is not a salad, but Sunday, I made this Weight Watchers recipe for cabbage rolls stuffed with ground turkey. Luckily, this has been the coolest August I can ever remember, so running the stove for over an hour didn’t make me want to die of heat stroke. Anyway, my husband devoured them, and they made my coworkers really jealous. The secret ingredient? Cinnamon. I never would have thought to add it, but I don’t think I will be able to go without it from now on!

See? This isn’t dieting. This is simply delectable, glorious food! Practically gourmet!

 

4 thoughts on “The First Two Weeks

  1. Pingback: Goals. | My Journey--One Day at a Time

Leave a Reply

