The Plan

My company’s newsletter announced that we are now eligible for a discount on the Weight Watchers program. It’s not a large discount, but it was enough to pique my interest and get me back in the saddle. If you read my story, you know that out of all the things I’ve tried, WW has been the only program that I’ve really had success. But, I think part of the reason I lost that momentum was because I was so tired of counting every little thing I put in my mouth. It’s why the food diaries on Spark People and MyFitnessPal didn’t work either. When it comes down to it, how do I spend the rest of my life counting? If it’s not a diet, but a lifestyle change, it needs to be sustainable. For me, counting wasn’t it.

Knowing all of this, but also knowing that I had to do something, I signed up. As I was signing up, their current promotion – the 2-week Simple Start plan – caught my eye. I’m including a snapshot of their guidelines below:

  • Get to know the Simple Start food list.
  • Browse and choose one of our meals and snacks — and eat them.
  • The goal of Simple Start is to get you in the habit of eating good-for-you foods. So for now, don’t worry about portion size. But if you do want guidance around portions, we’ve provided recommended portion sizes as visual clues.
  • Try to get in at least 6 glasses of water (with or without bubbles, unsweetened), coffee or tea (no sugar; fat-free milk only) or diet soda.
  • Limit yourself to 2 tsp of healthy oils per day, total. Healthy oils include olive, canola, safflower, sunflower and flaxseed.

Basically, you eat as much as you want from the Simple Start food list, which is actually a great variety of foods, and try to meet your daily health checks. The premise behind this plan is that it’s hard to overeat when you’re eating things like brown rice and black beans. After the two weeks are up, you can choose to track PointsPlus or you can continue on with the Simply Filling method.

I hadn’t tried Simply Filling before; it always seemed so daunting and restrictive! I couldn’t have been more wrong. I feel like I have more freedom now than I ever did when I was counting everything. The list of Power Foods is expansive and tasty. Plus, you get 49 weekly points to use on items that aren’t considered power foods.

Here, I need to have an aside about margarine. I’ve refused to eat it since I first heard that it’s one molecule away from being plastic. While I’ve since come around to the powers of reason and biology on that one, I still don’t trust margarine. It was designed to be indestructible. According to Peggy Olson on Mad Men, “It was invented for Napoleon III … because armies need to move and it never spoiled.” There’s no possible way that chemically altered food like margarine and fat-free American cheese can be good for you. Plus, the less I’ve got in common with Napoleon, the better (we’ve already got the height thing going). I’ll stick to the real deal. And that’s where these 49 weekly points come in handy!

D and I have enjoyed so many delicious and satisfying meals over the past week and a half. I can’t say enough good things about Simply Filling – and neither can he! The husband has been so pleased with the meal quality around here that he’s even been pitching in. Tonight, he grilled up the most delicious sirloin steak I think we’ve ever had at home. I’m salivating just reliving the experience.

Anyway, I’ve heard that it takes 30 days to form a habit, but I think for me it’s more like 90. I’ve made it to the 30-day mark a hundred times, and that seems to be the make or break point. I need to set myself up to push right through that mark!

Does anyone have any tips for staying focused on the goal while trying to form a habit? What works for you?

3 thoughts on “The Plan

  1. I found this post really helpful. I too, have tried counting calories, I don’t know how many times. Like you, a few weeks for me is not enough time to form a habit. I can sustain a habit for a couple of months but come unstuck with the slightest illness or emotional turmoil./ challenge. I don’t have the money for weight watchers at the moment but the tips here sound good, especially the simple start plan. I’m so glad I found your blog via another one I was reading tonight – was it Rob’s (weighttolose2013) or Disappearing Woman?

    Like

    • I’m glad you found me too. I think it must have been Disappearing Woman, but I will check out weight2lose2013!

      I have actually been counting Points the normal way lately, but I love knowing that when I tire of counting, Simply Filling is still there! I am considering switching back in the next month or so, just to keep things interesting.

      Like

      • I’m back to using My Fitness Pal. Gotta get back to exercising daily cost that motivates me to stay on track. Disappointed that I lost a couple of kgs then regained them over Christmas, but still doing better than when I started :).

        Like

Leave a Reply

